Have You Been Arrested for DUI? Call Us Now
Protecting Clients Charged with Driving Under the Influence
Sometimes people are wrongly accused of crimes they did not commit. When you have been accused of drinking and driving and other related charges, Attorney Brad Mills understands the challenges you may be facing.
We know that a drunken driving arrest can have a huge impact on your life that includes losing your job, drivers license suspension, possible jail time, and costly fines, fees, and court costs.
We have handled many different types of DUI cases. These include serious drunk driving accident cases leading to allegations of vehicular homicide, and hundreds of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd offense DUI cases.
How Mills Law Firm Handles DUI Defense
Brad Mills takes his professional obligation seriously. He will speak candidly with you about your case. We do not take cases unless we can help clients, and we are honest about the results we can achieve.
When we take your DUI defense case, we will take time to talk with you about the potential consequences you may face. We will talk about the circumstances of your arrest, the facts in your favor and facts that may affect you negatively. Together, we will work with you to develop a DUI defense strategy designed to get you the best possible results based on the facts of your case.
Remember, in cases where you refused to take the breath test, you only have a limited amount of time to save your license after a DUI arrest! You must act quickly to protect your rights.
Mississippi DUI Information
It is illegal for any person in Mississippi to drive or operate a motor vehicle within this State who:
is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or other substance which has impaired his/her ability to operate a motor vehicle.
has .08% of alcohol in the blood for persons 21 years of age or older; or has .02% of alcohol in the blood for persons under 21 years of age; or .04% of alcohol for persons operating a commercial motor vehicle; all as determined by a chemical test of breath, blood, or urine.
Penalties for DUI, Violation of the Implied Consent Law, and Zero Tolerance for Minors are as follows:
Fined $250 to $1,000, or imprisoned for up to 48 hours, or both; the court may substitute attendance at a victim impact panel in stead of jail. Plus mandatory attendance and completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program; also mandatory Driver's License suspension or choice of interlock ignition device.
Second Offense Within 5 Years:
Fined $600 to $1,500, and shall be imprisoned for five days to one year; and sentenced to Community Service Work for five days to one year; plus mandatory license suspension or choice of interlock ignition device.
Third and Subsequent Offense Within 5 Years – FELONY:
Fined $2,000 to $5,000, and imprisoned from one to five years in the State Penitentiary; plus mandatory license suspension for five years or choice of interlock ignition device. However, commercial driving privileges shall be suspended up to the maximum life suspension. Moreover, mandatory seizure of the vehicle used at time offense was committed and thereafter, forfeiture of vehicle.
For any fourth or subsequent conviction, without regard to the time period within which the violations occurred, the person shall be guilty of a Felony and fined not less than $3,000 nor more than $10,000, and serve not less than two (2) years nor more than ten (10) years in the custody of the Department of Corrections.
Zero Tolerance for Minors:
MCA §63-11-30(3) is amended so as to prescribe the new language of Zero Tolerance for Minors which applies only to persons under 21 years who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more, but lower than .08%. As noted below, a BAC of .08% or more is governed by subsection (2) of MCA §63-11-30 regarding adult penalties.
Under Age Conviction:
Any person under the legal age to obtain a driver's license who is convicted of DUI shall not be able to receive a driver's license until they reach the age of 18.
Serious Injury / Death:
If convicted, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol of drugs, and negligently causing serious injury or death to another, is a FELONY with the prescribed criminal penalty of up to 25 years in the State Penitentiary.